Really Ugly Protein Granola Bars

Poop.

Poop.

Or in other words, how I messed up a recipe, but sort of salvaged it. Sort of. God, it’s a hideous granola bar.

So many things went wrong in making these granola bars. First, I ran out of honey, so I tried to make do with only 1/3 cup of honey. No good, the mixture was too dry and crumbly. I tried to salvage it by adding more melted peanut butter.  Still too crumbly. Then, I tried to make an elegant chocolate drizzle, which ended up looking like elegant chocolate turds. Finally, I cut into them while they were still too cold, and they ended up disintegrating everywhere.

But I still ate them, and they taste really good, so that’s what counts, right? I’ll console myself by eating the crumbs.

Now Christmas is over, and it’s back to the grind and healthy eating.  I went to my boyfriend’s house down south for Christmas. Both his parents are amazing cooks and bakers, and they made an elaborate Christmas feast and an assortment of cookies. I would like to think that I have some modicum of willpower, but that all disappears when I’m literally surrounded by cookies and cakes. I’m absolutely helpless. For three days, I played with the dogs and ate cookies. I stuffed my face until I thought I was going to literally explode. And it was great. Great until I struggled to put on my jeans. Oh the holidays.

I’ve been toying around with granola bar recipes for a bit, since I’ve decided to forgo the store bought ones. This one’s pretty easy, and it’s based off my rice krispy treat recipe. The only extra add  ins are oatmeal, chia seeds, and protein powder (I used rice protein powder, since I’m lactose stupid and can’t eat whey protein). They taste like dessert, but aside from the chocolate chips, the sweetness in this comes from honey.

Ingredients:
(makes 24 mini bars)
1.5 cups old fashioned oats
1.5 cups Kashi puffed rice cereal
1 scoop protein powder
2 tbs chia seed
1/2 cup honey
3/4 cup peanut butter
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/3 cup dark chocolate chips

1. Mix together the oats, rice cereal, chia seeds, and protein powder in a bowl. Set aside.
2. Melt the peanut butter and honey and 1 tsp of vanilla until runny.
3. Pour the mixture over the dry ingredients and mix well until incorporated.
4. Press the mixture firmly into a 8 x 8″ pan.
5. In the microwave, melt the chocolate chips. Drizzle over the mixture.
6. Set in the fridge for at least an hour.

Screen Shot 2013-12-26 at 5.53.53 PM

Leave a comment