Super Breakfast Cookies

Fibrous.

Fibrous.

I am by nature a morning person, and I almost always do my workouts in the morning. I find that it’s good to eat something before I workout, but I usually don’t want anything too heavy or filling, because that’ll be sitting in my stomach while I row, bike, lift, etc. For the most part, I have relied on granola bars, but constantly buying packaged granola bars is an expensive habit. What I was looking for was something that was light but would give me energy. Thus, my quest to make a breakfast cookie.

Disclaimer: I’m not a nutritionist. I just looked up some fun facts about oatmeal and oat bran, which guided me in deciding what to use as the base of the cookie.

I used oatmeal as a base, since it’s a complex carbohydrate that’s low in fat, high in fiber, and helps stabilize your blood sugar. I added oat bran to it instead of whole wheat flour because I wanted to keep the cookies as close to gluten free as possible. Then I added almonds (yum), chia seeds (protein), greek yogurt (more protein) to make for a super cookie. They’re sweetened only by 1/2 cup of honey.

Disclaimer: these are not like a Mrs. Field’s decadent chocolate chip cookie. If you’re looking for sinful goodness, go elsewhere. These are convenient, dense, chewy oatmeal cookies that will satisfy your sweet tooth and keep you full. And at only 85 calories per cookie, you can have more than one.

The perfect morning snack. Or anytime snack.

The perfect morning snack. Or anytime snack.

Ingredients:

3 cups old fashioned oats
2 cups oat bran
1 cup raisins
1 cup applesauce
1 mashed banana
1/2 cup dark chocolate chips
1/2 cup almonds
1/2 cup honey
1/2 cup greek yogurt
1/2 cup almond milk
2 tbs chia seeds
1 tbs cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg
2 tsp vanilla
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda

1. Set the oven to 350 F.
2. In a large bowl, mix the oats, oat bran, almonds, cinnamon, nutmeg, and chia seeds together. Set aside.
3. In another bowl, mix together one mashed banana, greek yogurt, honey, vanilla, almond milk, baking powder, and baking soda.
4. Combine the wet with the dry ingredients.
5. Fold in the chocolate chips and raisins.
6. Using a tablespoon, form the dough into small balls and press lightly to flatten them slightly. Feel free to crowd the cookies, since they don’t spread.
7. Bake for 18-20 minutes.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment